Tarot Cards and Their Meaning

major arcana small

Tarot cards have been used as a means of divination for many years. The number of cards can vary in a tarot deck, but the standard one has 78 cards, divided into the Major and Minor Arcana. The Major Arcana tarot card meanings along with the Minor Arcana cards’ meanings help a reader provide information to a person looking for answers to life’s questions.

The Major Arcana focuses on how some things in life have long-term influences on people’s lives, while the Minor Arcana focuses on everyday issues and short-term solutions. Tarot decks can be based on various themes, including religion, nature, animals, movies, music, fantasy, dragons, books, and much more. The most common deck in the United States is the Rider-Waite deck. This deck, which contains the standard number of tarot cards, was created in 1909.

Differentiating the Genuine and Fake Readers

As with many other forms of divination, special care is required when it comes to tarot card meanings and spreads. This is especially important because there are many fake tarot readers out there. One must always make the distinction between a true practitioner and a charlatan during either a Major Arcana tarot reading or a Minor Arcana reading. Due to the high number of fake practitioners, tarot cards have been viewed negatively, creating many misconceptions and myths about tarot cards. Their meaning is standard and certain rules apply, but the reading is open to free interpretation.

The Major Arcana and Long-Term Solutions

The Major Arcana consists of 22 cards, numbered 0 through 21. Cards in the Major Arcana include The Fool, The Chariot, Justice, The Hermit, The Wheel of Fortune, Strength, The Hanged Man, Death, Temperance, The Devil, The Tower, The Star, The Moon, The Sun, Judgment, The World, The Magician, The High Priestess, The Empress, The Emperor, The Hierophant, and The Lovers. Major Arcana tarot spreads feature any combination of these cards to be interpreted by the reader.

Tarot cards in the Major Arcana represent principles, concepts, ideas, and long-term energy and are not associated with the suits. Cards in the Major Arcana include pictures, helping to clarify the Major Arcana tarot card meanings. A Major Arcana tarot reading focuses on some of life’s important questions.

The Minor Arcana and Everyday Issues

The Minor Arcana is constructed from 56 different tarot cards. They are divided into four suits, each with 14 cards (1 to 10 plus four court cards). The Minor Arcana includes the suit of wands, the suit of swords, the suit of pentacles, and the suit of cups. Each suit represents a specific element in life and our approach toward that element. Tarot cards in the Minor Arcana represent everyday ups and downs in life and offer insight based on the order of tarot spreads, meanings, and other information offered by the cards.

The suit of cups is associated with the element of water and represents our emotions and feelings. The swords represent the air element and reasons for our behavior. Tarot cards in the suit of wands represent creativity and are associated with the fire element. Lastly, pentacles are linked to the earth element and represent our material goods.

Article approved by Sophia Loren.